Safety First

I would like to share a little bit behind the scene here at Angi Randall Photography.  Well, kind of behind the scene.  It really is about the baby’s safety.  The image I am going to share is a popular pose in the newborn portrait industry and is not a pose that a baby would be typically scene doing.  It is more of an artsy pose and really about the skill level of the photographer and how to keep the baby safe.  I have done this pose many times and there are a few factors that are consindered in getting this pose, and let me tell you that not every baby will co-operate.

Anyway…here is the image:

Once I get baby into place, I will always use the parents to help me out and to keep the baby’s head supported.   The hands never go far from baby.  Even if I get lucky and get a baby to balance on it’s own…the parents’ hands are only maybe an inch or two away from the head and parents never take their eyes off the baby.  Once the baby starts moving or losing balance I have the parents put hands back on the head.  And we will be done with the pose.   I would say 98% of the time I am photoshopping arms and hands out.

My number one priority at Angi Randall Photography is to keep the babies I photograph safe.  Babies are delicate and precious and I DO NOT want anything to happen to them.

So, all in all, if you are looking for a newborn photographer…make sure that the photographer you are seeking has experience in photographing newborns and has the safety of your newborn child as a #1 priority.   Not every photographer is cut out to photograph newborns, because newborns take time, patience and skill.   Most of us who specialize in Newborn Photography have gone to classes to teach us some of these skills to work with your special bundle of joy and continue to learn all we can to make sure your newborn stays SAFE.

 

Leave a Reply

